Fun Flower Fact #5

Hawaii’s official state flower is the yellow hibiscus (Hibiscus brackenridgei), also known in the Hawaiian language as the pua aloalo. All colors and varieties of the hibiscus became the official Territorial flower in the early 1920s.

It wasn't until 1988, nearly 30 years after Hawaii was named the 50th state in 1959, that the yellow hibiscus native to the Hawaiian Islands was officially adopted by Hawaii’s legislature.

The yellow hibiscus is among the seven hibiscus species native to the Hawaiian Islands. Other colors were imported to the islands, and used by growers to develop unique hybrids to produce the gorgeous size and color varieties found today.

23rd Dec 2019

Recent Posts